Eleven daimyo, leaders of Yonezawa Domain, rest in this cemetery. Surrounded by cedar trees, it has a solemn and quiet atmosphere. It is also a nationally-designated historic site.
In 1873, during the Meiji era, Yonezawa Castle was demolished. Three years later, in 1876, the remains of Uesugi Kenshin, previously enshrined at the castle, were relocated to the Uesugi Clan Mausoleum. The gravesite itself for each daimyo consists of a small building, with differences in design depending on the generation the person lived in.